The Move: Day One

by Sweets and Sweaters

This is a highly anticipated post, on my end.

But, now I’ve got wifi, I’ve got pictures and I’ve got functional phalanges. What more does one really need to blog? I say nothing.

So here I go…

I’ll just jump right in by saying- It’s happened, folks. We’ve moved. We’ve found a place to unpack our things and to call home. A word I haven’t used in it’s typical sense in about three years.

Home, when I lived in LA, was what I called Minnesota. And when I moved back to Minnesota and lived in a basement… Home wasn’t a word I used ever, but instead it became a strong sense that came over me in any theater I set foot in.

The meaning of home is being redefined for me, again. It’s new definition(s): 1) the place I come after work and 2) the place that is still creating itself. This home is still unfolding every day. It is still becoming what it is going to eventually be. And it is enlivening to be a witness as well as a part of its process.

But before we could make it here, we had to say goodbye to Burnsville. And what better way to bid this chapter adieu than by roller skating at the local roller rink?

Image

Image

Next, we stuffed our cars like turkeys.

Image

Image

Then, we unloaded the cars and put baby the items in a corner.

Image

Eventually, I hung my first piece of clothing.

Image

(dusty.)

Bought a lotta groceries and still didn’t have enough to fill the fridge.

Image

Bought hydrangeas. (which, the nicest, most alive, beautiful, sincere and loving woman in the world, living as a Trader Joe’s employee, admired).

Image

And broke bread sliced cake with my family

Image

The more we do, the more time we spend together, the more conversations we have, the more I stretch, the more personal touches we add, the more headstands I practice, the more meals we cook, the more nights I spend- our house, moment by moment, becomes more a home.

And so concludes the very first moments of our home-in-the-making.

May we get the opportunity to create millions and millions more.

