Christmas Day: Dessert

by Sweets and Sweaters

IMG_2204

Chocolate Cake.

Family Recipe, but may or may not really have come from Betty Crocker. And as far as I know she isn’t family….

As fantastic as the recipe is, whether it originated from a family member or not, it’s meant to look like this:

I'm sure we can all agree this looks like a decent cake. I dare say it's unlikely you'd turn it down if I offered you a piece, right? Right.

But I made a suggestion that brought this cake from good to magical and it’s just two words:

Powdered. Sugar. Now does it or does it not look like a fantasy world in which Earth is made of spongey chocolate and fudge and is covered by the lightest, fluffiest, sweetest snow? It's a magical land that I half want to live on and half want to eat.

It’s a Winter Wonderland. Am I right or am I right?

Now we all know powdered sugar is delicious and it also makes this particular cake go from… “eh… I guess I’ll have a piece” to “I DON’T NEED A FORK, THAT’S WHAT MY FACE IS FOR,” kind of thing.

But it is also really fun and messy.

It all started with me recalling how I’ve always wanted to have a flour fight in the kitchen like Diane Keaton, Meg Ryan and Lisa Kudrow in Hanging Up, then realizing my hand was covered in powdered sugar and saying… “Mom… I just want to high five your shoulder.”

So I did.

Then that turned into this…….

SUGAR ARM.

SUGAR SHOULDER.

SUGAR CHRISTMAS NAILS.

and finally.... SUGAR-ED OUT.

After the mess was cleaned up, my family and I ate our cake while watching It’s a Wonderful Life. (I want to dress like Donna Reed. Call me old fashioned, but I want to wear heels in the kitchen. Can that look come back, yet or is the feminist movement still going too strong for that?)

My mom and I stayed up an extra twenty minutes until midnight to experience the day’s end. While doing so we watched the lights on the tree and listened to a beautiful woman with a beautiful voice see us through the end of this years’ Christmas.

Good-bye, Christmas. Thank you for your cheer. Until next year.

xo Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.

